Romance Words Top Five Books for 2016

It’s that time of the year. Time to pick our top 5 star reads of the year. Take a look below. We haven’t listed the uber, uber popular books of the year (ahem, Colleen Hoover).  But rather some of the more unsung books that we think were really, really good. Now Ms. Tarryn Fisher–we had to list F*ck Love first…cause it was that good!

Helena Conway has fallen in love.
Unwillingly. Unwittingly.
But not unprovoked.
Kit Isley is everything she’s not—unstructured, untethered,
and not even a little bit careful.
It could all be so beautiful … if he wasn’t dating her best friend.
Helena must defy her heart, do the right thing, and think of others.
Until she doesn’t.

Our Review:  I have a real problem with starting off a year with such a wonderful book.  Everything seems to pale in comparison and reading sucks for a while.  This book starts out so unexpectedly, I was sucked in from the word get go.  This is not your typical I fell in love with the bestfriend’s boyfriend.  Yes, our heroine has fallen in love with the wrong man, but gosh, how it happens is fresh, compelling and original.

When you hit the bottom, you have two choices:
Succumb to the darkness or claw your way back to the light
Staying will be the end of friendships, love and possibly your life
If you choose to fight, be prepared to falter along the way. Everything will be different. Even you.
Especially you.
If you think the choice is easy, think again.

Our reviewI read and review a ton of books. I honestly enjoy the majority of them. But it takes an special story to get a five-star rating from me. This book knocked it out of the park! The characters are fully developed and the story line tight. Above all, it made me feel…I laughed, I cried, I swooned over the heros, my heartached for the characters, and I loved the ending! I can’t say enough good things about it!

He’s not perfect, but he’s all I want…
I’m your average girl at your average high school, trying to figure out my place in life. After catching my now ex-boyfriend messing around with my now ex-best friend, I’ve made some big changes. No more band, no more backstabbing friends and no more boring old life. Now I have new friends, a new job and new interests.
But there’s a certain someone who’s interested in me, and I don’t get it. Jordan Tuttle could have anyone he wants. He’s the most popular boy in school. Rich, gorgeous, smart and the star quarterback, he’s perfect. Yet he acts like he wants no one else but…me.
So despite my fears and doubt, I let him get close. Probably too close. I discover that he’s not so perfect after all, but it doesn’t matter. I’m falling for him, even though he runs so hot and cold. I know someday he’s going to break my heart.
And I’m going to let him.

Our ReviewMs. Murphy is THE master of the young adult romance. She realistically captures all the emissions of young/first love. Jordan and Amanda’s story is one of a very troubled young man and a very confident young woman, who is vulnerable to this one young man. The emotions seem real as are the situations in their relationship. My one and only criticism….it does end in a cliffhanger which the author does apologize for. When did you say part two would be available Me. Murphy???

Kenzie
I’m a yes girl. Get your mind out of the gutter; I’m not talking about sex. I’m talking about saying yes to whatever comes my way in life. So when I had the chance to move to Europe after college, I said, yes. When I had the chance to open my own lingerie line, I said, yes. And when my stepsister got diagnosed with cancer and needed me to come home and help her raise her daughter, I said, yes. That’s me, Kenzie — the yes girl! In every area of my life but one —Love. Always the first to leave a relationship. Will I be able to say yes to love — to Kane — to being happy? Or will I simply come undone and be stripped raw?
Kane
Don’t let Kenzie fool you! She’s a master at hiding behind a laugh and a smile. Being an attorney, I prefer the facts. This story isn’t as light and happy as my yes girl would have you believe. No laugh can sugarcoat what we are facing: I’ve lost everything. I know what it’s like to be left raw. But sometimes that’s the only way to find love. To strip yourself down, let the other person see all your sh*t, and hope they love you anyway.

Our Review: I laughed, I cried, I finished feeling completely satisfied but a bit envious. You see the book has a paragraph from Kane, our hero; “That’s the thing about love. Anyone can love you when you’re young, beautiful and life is perfect. But true love is loving someone in their s***. When you can love the dark, ugly parts of someone–that’s real love. When you watch them be stripped to the bones, and build them back up–that’s love.” The book show this kind of love between no only Kenzie (the I laughed, I cried, I finished feeling completely satisfied but a bit envious. You see the book has a paragraph from Kane, our hero; “That’s the thing about love. Anyone can love you when you’re young, beautiful and life is perfect. But true love is loving someone in their s***. When you can love the dark, ugly parts of someone–that’s real love. When you watch them be stripped to the bones, and build them back up–that’s love.” The book show this kind of love between no only Kenzie (the heroine) and Kane, but between Kenzie and her sister. I would recommend this book to everyone, as it reminds us that life is a gift and love is an even greater gift, and remember to love and live with “no regrets.”

A Bridge Apart is a remarkable love story that tests the limits of trust and forgiveness… In the quaint river town of New Bern, North Carolina, at 28 years of age the pieces of Andrew Callaway’s life are all falling into place. His real estate firm is flourishing and he’s engaged to be married in less than two weeks to a beautiful banker named Meredith Hastings. But when Meredith heads to Tampa, Florida – the wedding location – with her mother, fate, or maybe some human intervention, has it that Andrew happens upon Cooper McKay, the only other woman he’s ever loved. A string of shocking emails lead Andrew to question whether he can trust his fiancé, and in the midst of trying to unravel the mystery he finds himself spending time with Cooper. When Meredith catches wind of what’s going on back at home, she’s forced to consider calling off the wedding, which ultimately draws Andrew closer to Cooper. Andrew soon discovers he’s making choices he might not be able, or even want, to untangle. As the story unfolds, the decisions that are made will drastically change the lives of everyone involved, and bind them closer together than they could have ever imagined.

Our Review:   I went into it totally blind and I have to say I totally enjoyed myself.  You can read, so I’m not going to recap this story for you, but I will say the writing and editing are well done.  The characters believable as are their reactions to the things that happen to them.  And the ending…I didn’t see it coming…but was totally satisfied.  I can wholeheartedly recommend.  I almost wish I hadn’t read it so I could experience it all again for the first time…it is that good.

Leave a Reply

